Of Mice and Men

Last year I read John Steinbeck’s Tortilla Flat, and I’ll admit that I picked it up purely because the title caught my attention. I ended up not only loving the story, but Steinbeck’s writing.

How did I make it through all of my Honors English classes without being forced to read at least one of his works? … Well, I guess better late than never.

So this year I decided to read Of Mice and Men. (I like to mix a few classics into the new fiction that I read.)

Reading this book as a writer is fascinating because Steinbeck breaks “the rules” but he does it beautifully. While reading Of Mice and Men, (and also Tortilla Flat), I wondered how Steinbeck researched before writing. How did he manage to replicate so perfectly the language and lifestyle of migrant laborers?

My answer came at the back of the book in the “About the Author” section.

“John Steinbeck was born in Salinas, California, in 1902. His first three books were financial failures, and he worked at various kinds of jobs to survive, including fruit picking…”

A good reminder for writers to “write what you know”.

1 Comment

Filed under books, men, work, writing

One response to “Of Mice and Men

  1. That’s interesting. I’ve always heard to “write about what you know” too. And I always wonder about the research that authors put into books. Writing about what you know seems a lot easier and more natural than researching another way of life, career, or what have ya. Well, it’s late and I’m tired… I’m afraid I’m about to start rambling here. :) I just came across your blog again and wanted to comment and say HI. I got your email a few months back and keep meaning to write back. I hope you all are doing well and having a great summer!! :)

Leave a Reply

