Mother’s Day Giveaway!

_____________________________________
CONTEST CLOSED! WINNER ANNOUNCEMENT!
_____________________________________

Using Random.org, a winner has been selected!
Congratulations to … KAREN!

Thanks to all who participated and to stay up to say in-the-know on future giveaways, feel free to follow me on Twitter. (Link in the sidebar to the right.) … That is the first place I announce newly posted giveaways!

Happy Mother’s Day!

_______________________________________

I’m pleased to be able to host another wonderful giveaway from Hachette Book Group. One lucky winner will receive a copy of each book below:

Just Let Me Lie Down By Kristin van Ogtrop
God Never Blinks By Regina Brett
The Cradle By Patrick Somerville
Heart of My Heart By Kristin Armstrong
Roses By Leila Meacham

Rules:

1. Leave a comment telling me about a favorite memory you have of your mother, (or your favorite memory being a mother yourself!)

2. Make sure that you leave a valid E-mail address in the E-mail address field. Comments are moderated. Please be patient. Your comment will appear when I approve it!

3. One comment/entry per person. One winner will be chosen at random. Contest closes at 11:59 pm EST on May 8th, 2010. Winner will be announced here and contacted via E-mail on Mother’s Day, May 9th, 2010.

4. If you are the winner you must be able to respond with your address for the prize to be shipped. No PO Boxes will be accepted. Address must be in the US or Canada.

Good luck and Happy Mother’s Day!

38 Comments

Filed under books, giveaway, holiday, women

38 responses to “Mother’s Day Giveaway!

  1. humincat

    Wow, I can’t imagine reading for fun right now, but I get time off for good behavior/summer soon,lol. My favorite Mom memory? Hmm, I think that would have to be when my firstborn was newly arrived (less than a day old) and I was lying in the hospital, counting her fingers and toes and trying to memorize her face incase her nameband fell off and they tried to give me a different baby (ah, how I DON’T miss those wacky hormones) and I glanced down and noticed she had a darker complexion than I did and it was late summer! All of a sudden, like a ton of bricks, it hit me: I was the mother to a child from another ethnicity! The weight, the duty, the responsibility of this fact was a bit overwhelming to my already crazy circumstances (not married, BARELY 18, still living at home…). But I took the reality and I promised my new daughter that she would know both sides equally well, including the heritage, languages, food, music, and most importantly families. She not only made me a Mother that day, but a better person in this world. Through my endeavors to study and learn another culture, I’ve learned there isn’t the “right” way to do something, just do it the way that is right for you. Hope this is what you were looking for.

  2. Wow, I don’t know if I can compete with humincat. That was funny and touching.

    My favorite mom memory (since I’m not a monther myself yet) would have to be when I was around 4 or 5–and the power went out. My dad was at work, and it was summer–so we (my mom, brother and I) sat around the kitchen table with these long formal taper candles burning, and we colored in Wonder Woman coloring books.

    I never knew how artistic my mom was until that point, and she made Wonder Woman so real. I’ll never forget that.

  3. Tee

    Just a reminder — Winner is not picked by content of the comment. Winner will be randomly chosen – so future entrants, don’t be intimidated by these great entries :) You don’t have to write beautifully to participate. Just leave any memory of motherhood, (touching, silly, whatever), here and you have an equal chance to win! Good luck.

  4. Stephanie

    I’m not sure that I can pick my favorite memory of my mom. There are so many. To be honest, my favorite times are when the two of us are just hanging out being the best friends that we are :)

  5. Liza

    A favorite memory of my mother is one that happened not long before she passed. She was very ill, and one day just called to tell me what a great kid I am, and how proud she is of me, and lots of other remarks of that type. She lost the ability to communicate soon after, and I really treasure the thought of standing on a corner in the rain, receiving my mom’s “benediction” that day.

    Thanks for reminding me of this warm memory and for giving me the chance to win!

    –Liza

    ejm6x (at) yahoo (dot) com

  6. Cassie

    My favorite memories stem from our one-on-one vacations where we spend days together talking, exploring, laughing, sharing.

    cassie@wrencommunication.com

  7. I remember that she biked me to the kindergarten – sitting there and feeling lucky. Simple but crystal clear

  8. Connie Bryant

    One of my favorite memories is when my mother and I would read a book together when I was little. We read books about Egypt and other countries that were interesting. When I got older we would still read in the same room just different books. :)
    I love this giveaway…thanks for doing it.

  9. teisa

    My mom used to sing me You Are My Sunshine before going to bed every night when I was little. Now I sing it to my kids.

    teisalinscott@gmail.com

  10. One of my favorite memories is being very, very young and taking a bath with my mom. She would sing me songs, play with me, and let me go wild with the bubble bath. I still remember that clearly, and it’s a memory I associate with warmth, comfort, and safety.

  11. Kerrie G

    a favorite memory you have of being a mother—- I am a mother to 3 boys age 8, 2 and 8 months so everyday we are making new memories!
    One story I can think of was the day I was busy cleaning away had not had my morning shower when my oldest son said “mommy may I touch your hair?” I thought he was being so sweet and I replied “of course baby” and leaned towards him. Only to have him tell me ” not that hair, the black hair under your arms”!!! At that point I was reminded that motherhood is not glamorous, but very rewarding. And NO I did not let him touch my arm pits!!

  12. Pattyjo

    My favorite memory of my mother was, one day when it was winter, we were sent home early from school because of the cold and a snow storm. Yes is those days (I’m 62) we DID have to walk home. It was only 1 1/2 miles but it might as well have been a hundred miles to a 6 yr. old. I was soooo cold and my hands were frozen. I could see our house off in the distance and hurried to get home and inside. I opened the front door and it was so warm inside and my mother had heard about the school being let out early because of the snow storm and she was making cookies for us and hot cocoa. I felt like I was in Heaven that day and my mother was the best mom ever! I can’t remember very much of my childhood, but that memory still makes me feel so good.
    Pattyjo

  13. emily irwin

    there are so many memories but I still wish I had more with her. She had a debilitating stroke at the age of 44 and I was a sophomore in high school. Wish she could meet her almost one year old granddaughter !
    Emily

  14. DEBORAH THOMAS

    I remember when I was about 10 and my mother was working 2nd shift. I went to sleep early that evening and work up when she came home at midnight. I told her I was hungry and wanted some fried okra. After working all evening, she stood there are made me the okra while we talked.

  15. Cami

    My favorite memory of my mom is the care she gave me when my first child was born. She helped me with my cooking, cleaning, & laundry but most of all she taught me how to be a good mother and let me cry if I needed to. I hope to do the same for my daughter when she becomes a mother some day.

  16. Every year my mom would get my brothers, sisters and cousins all together in her kitchen the week of Christmas. We’d start very early in the morning mixing and baking cookies from scratch. We made and decorated every kind of cookie you could imagine…sugar cookies, chocolate chip, m&m, peanut butter, snicker doodles, chocolate oatmel, haystacks… And we had a blast. Flour, sugar and icing would be all over the place, but it didn’t matter- we were just kids and we were having fun.

  17. Celestia

    One of my favorite memories is when Mom and I took a roadtrip to visit a college I wanted to go to. It was awesome bonding time. Same for the day we randomly decided to drive to the mountains and have a photography day.

  18. EmilyB

    My favorite memory of my mother is waking up really early on Christmas morning to see her still assembling presents to put under the tree. She had stayed up all night in order for us to be surprised. What dedication!

  19. Sandy

    I loved baking pies with my mother and rolling the extra dough into cinnamon crisps that we never shared with anyone else!

  20. My mom used to babysit when I was younger, so she’d be home all the time with the kids so that was always great. I loved when she’d bring us to my uncle’s pool or this school that gave lunch in the summer.

  21. Angela R.

    I’m currently expecting my first children (two boys!) and I’ll never forget the moment that I learned that I was having them. It is a memory that I will never forget.

  22. Julia

    One of my favourite memories is from when my aunt taught my mom and myself to make sausages with the meat grinder. It involves a long tube of sausage casing popped over where the meat comes out, and then you have to hold on to it while the meat is squeezed down the tube.. there was a lot of giggling, and off colour jokes, and a great lot of fun.

  23. Karen

    One of my favorite memories with my mom is spending time together making Christmas cookies.

  24. Jo

    My favourite moments were when my mom let me finger paint! (of course I was a kid!) I was always excited when my mom brought out art projects…we once spent all day cutting out and playing with paper dolls! :)

  25. Anita Yancey

    I remember when I was 4 years old, my mom watching my favorite TV shows with me, and making my favorite snack. She did this every day. Thanks mom for putting up with me. Please enter me.

  26. Amy

    My favorite memory of my mom is when she ran into the glass door when we were decorating the Christmas tree when we lived in Florida. I mean….that was funny! But what was memorable was how she handled it and how she still handles embarassing or difficult situations- she laughs and laughs and laughs!

  27. Mine would be when my children were born…I can’t say which one meant more because of coarse they both have the same meaning to me. :) That feeling of bringing a new little person into this world is not like any other!

    tigpooh1516″at”yahoo”dot”com

  28. Felicity

    I remember that my I would give my mom “Mom Nights” where I ran her a bubble bath and brought her a glass of wine. Afterward I’d rub her feet. Until I got old enough to know better, and then she’d try and pay me to rub her feet!

  29. Jolee

    Many favorite mom memories. I’m currently enjoying watching her with my kiddies, especially my daughter. They have each other wrapped around each other’s fingers.

  30. Kayla

    My favorite memory is definitely my mom and I shopping with coupons. She teaches me everything I need to know about money and we always have so much fun and laugh a lot while shopping. We have fun searching for deals!

  31. Marci J

    Thank you for the chance to win this beautiful giveaway!
    My favorite memories with Mom usually center around the kitchen: shelling peas, canning fruit, slicing strawberries, etc. It’s when we have our best conversations.

  32. Janet

    Well into middle school my daughter would lay in bed listening to me read aloud as long as she could talk me into each and every night. Sweet memories!

  33. Danielle

    When I was in elementary school, my mom used to write me notes every Friday and leave them in my lunchbox. She would take the letters “T,” “G,” “I,” and “F” and make up a silly rhyme. They brightened my day! I’ve kept a few of them too (I’m 25) and they still make me smile!

  34. Ann

    What a great question. Now that I am older and fondly look back on my childhood. I think the best memory/memories was coming home after to school to my mom. I didn’t realize it at the time, but what a financial sacrifice my parents made to allow my mom to stay home for us kids. I never had to worry about being stuck in the nurse’s office waiting for one of my parents to get off of work to pick up a sick me or if anyone was going to be home to drive me to soccer practice or who I would tell my adventuers of the day to. Thank you mom!

  35. Rachel C

    Love books! My favorite mom memory is the day my kids were born! There’s nothing like the realization that you’ve actually become responsible to another human :)

  36. Ron-Michael

    My favorite memory really is any one I have. My mom passed away 17 years ao when I was relatively young, so I cherish every one I have.

  37. katie

    my favourite memory of my mother would have to be sitting on the sofa with her and talking about everything. Especially the time when i was in 7th grade and “dating” this one boy and i was so anxious because i did not really want to date him. haha good times always had talking with my mom :)

  38. dana

    My email is jdaustin@chartermi.net

    One of my fav memories of my mom is a simple one. We had just moved to our new house, I was 13, it was scary. We went to check out our new town and there was just huge downfall of rain and we were running through the kmart parking lot just laughing. It just kind of broke the tension, then we went to taco bell. I think you had to be there.