The Divorce Party (Giveaway!)

***THIS GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED***WINNER SELECTED***THIS GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED***

Alright everyone, thanks for entering. I inputted all the names into the List Randomizer at Random.org, and the name that came out on top was…

Anita!

(Screenshot:)
anita_winner

Congrats, Anita and thanks to all who entered. Check back often for future giveaways!

*****************************************************************

divorceparty I am giving away a copy of The Divorce Party by Laura Dave! … I’m in the middle of my own copy right now and it’s really good. (And not to judge a book by its cover, but how adorable is the cover art? Love it!)

Book description:

Gwyn Huntington knows how to throw a party. And Hunt Hall, her postcard-perfect Victorian home in Montauk at the easternmost tip of Long Island, is no stranger to celebrations. But on the morning of her thirty-fifth wedding anniversary, she’s putting finishing touches on the last party she’ll host there. The last time she’ll see Hunt Hall abuzz with caterers and bartenders. The last time she’ll preside over a gathering of beautiful friends chatting in candlelight. The last time she’ll fully play the role of Mrs. Thomas Huntington. Divorce parties have become commonplace, if not fashionable, in Montauk. But Gwyn is determined that hers will be different.

Just over one hundred miles away on the same morning, Maggie Mackenzie sits on the floor of her Brooklyn apartment attempting to organize her new life. A former travel writer, she’s fallen in love with a wonderful man, gotten engaged, and is planning to start a business with him. Today is also the day she’ll meet her fiancé’s parents for the first time. She’s feeling particularly uneasy about the occasion surrounding her first meeting with Nate’s family.

The Divorce Party takes us into the lives of these two women at opposite ends of marriage. For all the differences between them — distance, privilege, age — Gwyn and Maggie have one thing in common: Each has found herself at a crossroads. Gwyn has been preparing for this day, the last predictable day before an uncertain future. Even though she’s had time to come to terms with her divorce, she still can’t quite believe her marriage is over. How can she move on when her marriage has defined who she is for the last thirty-five years? And for Maggie, the emotionally charged trip to Montauk shakes the foundation of her relationship with Nate and dredges up feelings she has spent her life trying to avoid.

In the end, Gwyn and Maggie face the same questions: How hard should you work to stay with the person you love? And when is it time to let go?

For a chance to win, simply comment on this blog post and make sure you provide a valid E-mail address in the E-mail address field so you can be contacted if you win.

A winner will be chosen at random and announced here on August 1st, 2009.

Good luck!

23 Comments

Filed under books, contest, giveaway, marriage

23 responses to “The Divorce Party (Giveaway!)

  1. Since I am at the beginning of a divorce maybe I should read this book.

  2. Mandy

    As if I don’t have enough books already lol… but you can never have too many good books lol!

    One of these days I’ll figure out what that’s supposed to mean… so count me in!

  3. Carol M

    This sounds good. Thank you for the giveaway!
    mittens0831 AT aol.com

  4. Divorced twice myself, it sounds like a worthwhile read. Please include me in this drawing. Thanks for the opportunity! Indigo

  5. bunny

    Sounds like a good read, and the cover’s really cute! :) Thanks!

  6. maybe i’ll win. :) it could be my first delivery to the new house! :)

  7. Count me in for the draw too!! :D

  8. Stacie C.

    Mmmmm books!

  9. Anita Yancey

    This book sounds very interesting. I would love to read it. Please enter me. Thanks!

  10. wmsgirl

    thanks for offering what sounds like a great book…i just found your blog tonite and you have given me some great ideas of what to read next

  11. wmsgirl

    can’t find it on my librarys website or at the used book store i frequent however they have “london is the best city in america ” by the same author

  12. Renee G

    Looks like it would be a worthwhile read.
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(dot)com

  13. Sounds like a thoughtful story. And you’re right, I do like the cover!
    mayamissani AT yahoo DOT ca

  14. Hi. I never had a divorce party when I divorced so that is a novel idea. I would like to be at that happy place of committing to the love of my life. So, both of these points of view coming together in one book sounds entertaining. Count me in.

  15. bridget3420

    I had a divorce party and it was great. My mom even bought me a Happy Divorce cake. The bakery probably thought we were nuts but I was really glad to get out of a horrible situation.

  16. Fun! Fun! Please count me in. Thank you!

    nfmgirl AT gmail DOT com

  17. This looks interesting! Please enter me!

  18. Pam R.

    This sounds like fun and any book with a cake on the cover is one I have to add to my to be read list! Count me in please!

  19. Wanda

    I would love to win a copy of The Divorce Party!

  20. Barbara

    I have a friend who is in the process of a divorce. This book would be an inspiration for her. I know that with my divorce a light year ago, a party to celebrate would have been superb.
    I would love to win this book.

  21. I would love to win this one. I know my daughter would like to read it also.

    florida982002[at]yahoo[dot]com

  22. Debbie

    I would love to be included in your giveaway. I hope I am not to late.
    Thanks
    Debbie
    debdesk9(at)verizon.net

  23. Pingback: 2009 Books «

Leave a Reply

