Latino Book Month Giveaway

***CONTEST CLOSED*WINNERS SELECTED***

Thanks to Random.org, our 5 winners have been chosen. Congratulations to:

Aisha
Janet F
Wanda
Ashley
Beverly

Thanks to all who entered. Stay tuned for future contests and giveaways!

***CONTEST CLOSED***CONTEST CLOSED***

It’s May which means it is Latino Book month! (Never heard of Latino Book month? That’s okay. We’re giving away free books written by Latin American authors – that’s all you need to know!)

Enter to win all 5 of the following books:

latinobanner

B as in Beauty By Alberto Ferreras
Into the Beautiful North By Luis Urrea
Hungry Woman in Paris By Josefina Lopez
The Disappearance of Irene Dos Santos By Margaret Mascarenhas
Houston, We Have a Problema By Gwendolyn Zepeda

I have personally read 3 of the 5 books and I can tell you, this is an awesome prize! (Thanks goes as always to Hachette Book Group for their generosity.)

How to enter:

1. One entry per household. You may enter even if you have won a giveaway on Curious Villager before.

2. U.S. and Canada residents only. No P.O. Boxes will be accepted for prize shipment.

3. Just leave a comment about the last book you read and whether you recommend it on this post and make sure to give an accurate E-mail address in the E-mail address field so that if you win, I will be able to contact you.

4. Contest closes at 11:59 pm EST on May 24th, 2009. Five winners will be announced on this blog post and contacted via E-mail on May 25th, 2009. Your shipping information will be given to Hachette Book Group so they can send your prize directly.

5. Good luck! :)

27 Comments

Filed under books, contest

27 responses to “Latino Book Month Giveaway

  1. I’m entering, I’m entering–even though I just read “Hungry Woman in Paris”. I really want to win this one! :) Thanks for another awesome giveaway, chica! You rock! :)

  2. oh yeah–well, I just finished The Leisure Seeker, which I recommended to you. It was a very good read–short, and sweet. It made me cry at the end. I loved it. I don’t want to spoil for anyone that might want to read it–but it was funny, crass, sweet, touching, and emotional–all rolled into one!

    ( i just started reading “look me in the eye: my life with aspergers” yesterday for bookclub.)

  3. Hey Tee! Another great prize!

    I was thinking about the review you did for B as in Beauty and thought that may be a book I’d like to read.

    I just finished reading “One for My Baby” by Tony Parsons.

    I’d recommend it… it was pretty good. I’m actually doing a little review about it on my blog now :) (hopefully today, maybe tomorrow)

  4. I’m just now finishing up reading “Skin” By Ted Dekker. It makes you take a look at what you consider to be beautiful on a physical level. I’ve always thought the saying beauty is skin deep, was off kilter. True beauty lies within, from our spirit to our choices and actions.

    So this has been a kind of surreal read, seeing that question of what exactly is ugly and beautiful about a person.

    Thanks for the opportunity! Indigo

  5. I’m reading “Take One” by Karen Kingsbury!! A great book by one of my all time favorite authors!

  6. Cheryl S.

    The last book I read was “Sepulchre” by Kate Mosse. I liked this book & would recommend it. However, if you’ve never read any Kate Mosse books, I think her book “Labyrinth” was better.

    Thanks,
    Cheryl
    megalon22[at]yahoo[dot]com

  7. bridget3420

    Enemies and Allies was the last book I finished and I loved it. I can’t get enough of super heroes!

  8. Anita Yancey

    The last book I read was The Highly Effective Detective by Richard Yancey. No relation. This book was funny and entertaining, and a fast read with short chapters. A book well worth your time. I certainly recommend it.

  9. The last book that I read was The Secret Life Of Bees, by Sue Monk Kidd. It’s a wonderful book, and I recommend it!

    booksobsession(at)gmail(dot)com

    Thanks.

  10. Wanda

    The last book I read was called “Up From the Rubble” by Peter & Elfrieda Dyck. It’s a true story about Mennonite refugees. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in stories about refugees.

  11. Beverly

    The last book I read was Serena by Ron Rash. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in the environment and the choices we need to make that will affect both the current and future generations. And there is one female character whose picture should be next to the word evil in the dictionary.

  12. The last book I finished was “How to be Single” and it was an awesome read, it was fun and escapist, but also very serious and real. I reviewed it here: http://bookreviewsbyaisha.blogspot.com/2009/04/how-to-be-single-tuccillo-book-30.html

  13. hi, my first time here –
    these books sound really fascinating, and the cover art for each is so different. a real cross section of authors and topics!

    the book I just finished was ‘Darkborn’ by Alison Sinclair, a dark fantasy that just released this week. It was spectacularly good, can’t recommend highly enough! If you enjoy fantasy I encourage you to give this first book in a planned trilogy a try.

  14. Carol M

    I just finished reading If She Only Knew by Lisa Jackson. I loved it! Her books are always good.

  15. The last book I finished reading was Lisa Kleypas’ Smooth Talking Stranger. I loved it and I recommend it to anyone who loves contemporary romance!

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

    jaam121388 at yahoo dot com

  16. I just finished Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay and I highly recommened it-wonderful book! Thanks:)
    julyso@grandecom DOT net

  17. The last book that I read is Girls In Trucks and I recommend it.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  18. Pamela S

    Oops…mess up my entry.

    Anyway, the last book I read was “Agnes and the Hitman” by Jennifer Crusie and I highly recommend it if you like books that make you laugh your “butt” off.

  19. Last book I read was Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and I loved it. I just started this series after hearing how great it is for decades. Now, I know why Harry Potter gets such rave reviews.

  20. Chris

    I just finished reading a lot of books – while it’s a bit of a cop-out, I always recommend them, whether I love or hate. What one person hates, another may love. And you can always learn. One of the books I particularly enjoyed recently is Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game. I did not particularly enjoy Like Water For Chocolate, because I didn’t really care for the magical realism. But it was a very interesting format and an intriquing plot, so I still think that there was value in reading it.

  21. Carlene

    I am currently reading Dog On It by Spencer Quinn. It is so cute and funny, I think everyone would enjoy it. Please inlcude me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Carlene
    iluvreading(at)verizon.net

  22. I just read MADE IN THE U.S.A. by Billie Letts, and I really enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend it!
    Thanks for the chance to win this terrific selection of books from Hachette.

    geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

  23. Marianna

    “With the Light (Vol. 3)” is an interesting and educational comic book about a Japanese family raising an autistic son. I do recommend it, but Vol. 1 & 2 are a bit better. It is a comic, but do not take it lightly. The author worked very hard to send her message on autism across to her audience. In Japan it is widely believed that autism is something akin depression.

  24. Cleopatra-I loved this historical fiction.

  25. I recently read Pirate by Ted Bell which I enjoyed enormously. It was a great escapism adventure story. I romped from page to page eager to engage in the many twists and turns along the way. The ups and the downs. It was such a fun read and it was a page-turner of a story. Alex Hawke the master spy met his match in his counterpart(s) in the good and the evil woman spies. Shades of James Bond, and in my opinion, considerably more fun!!

  26. Hi
    Well the last book I read was a historical novel about the Vikings that was written by a Swedish fellow. It was the second book of a trilology. The name of it though on the tip of my tongue, escapes me. It was good escapism. The book that I can remember the title to that I read most recently, my daughter lent to me. She wanted me to read Twilight and I did.
    I really am in the mood for some more intellectual reads. This selection of books looks fantastic. I’d love to read them. Please count me in.
    Cheers
    MarionG
    polo-puppy-fluffy AT hotmail Dot com

  27. Renee G

    I just finished David Sadaris’ “Me Talk Pretty One Day”. It was a series of humorous essays and I enjoyed it, but I wouldn’t want to read it again.

    rsgrandinetti@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

