National Poetry Month Giveaway

***CONTEST CLOSED***WINNERS SELECTED***

Using Random.org’s List Randomizer, our 5 lucky winners have been chosen. Congratulations to:

Mandy
Jana
Indigo
Aisha
Ruth

They will be receiving the Poetry Giveaway gift pack courtesy of Hachette Book Group! Thanks to all who entered. Stay tuned for other giveaways!

poetrymonthbanner April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate, Hachette Book Group is allowing me to host a giveaway.

Five winners will receive a gift pack of all 6 books shown here. Here’s how to enter:

Rules:

1. One entry per household. You may enter even if you have won a giveaway on Curious Villager before.

2. U.S. and Canada residents only. No P.O. Boxes will be accepted for prize shipment.

3. Just leave a comment about one of your favorite poems on this post and make sure to give an accurate E-mail address in the E-mail address field so that if you win, I will be able to contact you.

4. Contest closes at 11:59 pm EST on April 30th, 2009. Five winners will be announced on this blog post and contacted via E-mail on May 1st, 2009. Your shipping information will be given to Hachette Book Group so they can send your prize (the 6 books shown), directly.

5. Good luck! :)

9 Comments

Filed under books, contest, poetry

9 responses to “National Poetry Month Giveaway

  1. Wow, only pick one? Well I can’t pick one but I can tell you my favourite poetry book…

    It’s written by Mattie J.T. Stepaneck and is called Reflections of a Peacemaker.

    It’s a collection of poetry that he wrote over his lifetime. He is dead now but he was only a child when he died (13 I believe). He called himself a peacemaker and a poet. I just find his words so powerful in relation to the age and spirit of the person who wrote them…

    You can read more about him here http://www.mattieonline.com/about.htm if your interested.

  2. I’ve always been partial to “Casey at bat”. I memorized it in high school for Forensics, and I guess it’s just my default poem.

    is that too cheesy to be considered “poetry”?

  3. Without a doubt this was an easy entry…as my all time favorite poem is Edgar Allen Poe’s “The Raven”. I used to read it to my daughter as a bedtime story, she loved it and to this day has it memorized. Thanks for this opportunity! Indigo

  4. Anita Yancey

    Love poetry. My favorite poem is Annabel Lee by Edgar Allan Poe. It is so sad, but a beautiful poem. Please enter me. Thanks!

  5. Cheryl S.

    My favorite poem is the “Desiderata” by Max Ehrmann.

    Please count me in – Thanks!
    Cheryl
    megalon22[at]yahoo[dot]com

  6. Emily Dickinson has always spoken to me in a very personal way… I love her details, I can almost feel it:

    THE GRASS so little has to do,—
    A sphere of simple green,
    With only butterflies to brood,
    And bees to entertain,

    And stir all day to pretty tunes
    The breezes fetch along,
    And hold the sunshine in its lap
    And bow to everything;

    And thread the dews all night, like pearls,
    And make itself so fine,—
    A duchess were too common
    For such a noticing.

    And even when it dies, to pass
    In odors so divine,
    As lowly spices gone to sleep,
    Or amulets of pine.

    And then to dwell in sovereign barns,
    And dream the days away,—
    The grass so little has to do,
    I wish I were a hay!

    And then there are the more quiet moments that lead my thoughts inward… I can relate to her:

    I DIED for beauty, but was scarce
    Adjusted in the tomb,
    When one who died for truth was lain
    In an adjoining room.

    He questioned softly why I failed?
    “For beauty,” I replied.
    “And I for truth,—the two are one;
    We brethren are,” he said.

    And so, as kinsmen met a night,
    We talked between the rooms,
    Until the moss had reached our lips,
    And covered up our names.

  7. I love this poem by Langston Hughes:

    What happens to a dream deferred?

    Does it dry up
    like a raisin in the sun?
    Or fester like a sore–
    And then run?
    Does it stink like rotten meat?
    Or crust and sugar over–
    like a syrupy sweet?

    Maybe it just sags
    like a heavy load.

    Or does it explode?

  8. I guess I could be all literary and talk about my favorite Robert Frost poem, but in reality I grew up reading Shel Silverstein and memorized many of his poems. My favorite:

    Teddy said it was a hat
    So I put it on.
    Now Dad is saying
    “Where the heck’s the
    toilet plunger gone?”

  9. i must be honest here and say that i have never really read much poetry. I have written some of my own, have gandered around at other peoples work, but nothing that i really remember. (unless dr. seuss counts) I would love to sit down with these books and indulge myself a little.

Leave a Reply

