Houston, We Have a Problema

CONTEST CLOSED. WINNER CHOSEN.

Using Random.org, I entered the names of those who commented in the order in which they commented. Random.org shuffled that list and “humincat” came out on top.

randomorg

Thanks to all who entered!

houston Houston, we have a problema is the fun, clever chick lit title by Latina author Gwendolyn Zepeda.

The story revolves around Jessica Luna, a superstitious single Latina who leaves nothing to chance when it comes to life and love, but relies on the guidance of a psychic named Madame Hortensia. I’ve only just started reading this book but I’m really enjoying it. (Particularly the yummy descriptions of her on-again, off-again boyfriend Guillermo. Hot tamales!)

I’ve got one extra copy of this book to give away. To be entered to win, comment and tell me about a superstition you have.

16 Comments

Filed under books, contest, culture, opinion

16 responses to “Houston, We Have a Problema

  1. a superstition? man oh man–

    One that I was raised with is that when you enter a house or building, you have to leave by the same door you came in. I’m not quite sure, but I still adhere to it.

    *keeping fingers x’d to win the random drawing*

  2. Threes, I think I have to do certain things in threes. It’s ridiculous, but I still do it.

    Sounds like a great book!

  3. humincat

    I want a new book~!! The only one I can think of is the string and needle over the hand when you are pregnant to determine the sex of the baby. Of course, it was wrong both times, but I totally do it a million times because I can’t stand the suspense for nine whole months! I am such a logical person, I have a hard time with superstitions, but I enjoy hearing about them and watching how others base their decisions on them, it is really interesting to see what makes other people tick, don’t you think? Anyway, MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

  4. I’m superstitous about tons of things. I can’t think of them all right now but I know I don’t want my baby born on the 13th of any month.

  5. Sooo, who won? I had never heard of Panes con Pavo, so I googled it and it sounds delicious! Both recipes I read said something about cooking the turkey upside down? Why? And what spices are you using? Where does the bread come into play and what sides are you adding? Let me know how it comes out since I have a frozen bird in the freezer that I’ve been ignoring, lol. Anyway, Merry Christmas to you and your boys and I hope you all have a great day tomorrow.

  6. Feliz Navidad Tee!! My wish-gift to you is a lifetime supply of free books, to read or share at your discretion. Oh, and free shipping world-wide, even if by llamas and donkeys on mountain tops. I hope I picked well.

  7. Tee

    Humincat – I will pick a random winner after Christmas. I didn’t set a date for the contest to expire because this time of year I never know what I’ll be doing from one day to the next. I have Carlos and the boys home now which means I have to work (cooking, cleaning, etc.) more than usual during the day.

    As for “panes con pavo”, I have never made this before. We usually eat a traditional (Anglo) Christmas dinner at my parents house but Carlos has asked for years for us to do our own thing once in awhile. He finally got his wish. I’m following the recipe here:
    http://www.whats4eats.com/poultry/pavo-salvadoreno-recipe

    I have no idea why a turkey would be cooked upside down – I can’t even tell you what right side up is. I haven’t cooked a turkey before (even in the regular way). I just cleaned it and marinated it a few minutes ago – with Carlos’ help. Apparently I was looking for the giblets at the wrong end. No wonder it wouldn’t open. LOL… I’m a bit squeamish about touching raw meat -especially poultry for some reason, so that isn’t making it any easier to handle the bird.

    I am making the turkey as the recipe describes with a few small changes (like using pre-made salsa, and not putting in prunes, just out of personal preference) – and then serving in bolillos (little french bread rolls) with lettuce, sliced cucumber, etc.

    Carlos says he likes it with the “relajo” added to the salsa, (see the recipe), but I’m not doing that this year. Maybe next time.

    I love your wish-gift! :) Do I get to load the llamas and donkeys myself? LOL…. My wish-gift to you is a marriage and family full of Latin passion, (but the kind that makes us love them and not want to hit them over the head with a frying pan.) ;)

    Feliz Navidad!

  8. Christy

    I don’t know if it’s a superstition or an obsession ~ I like things in even numbers … I can’t wash a load of laundry or start the dishwasher until there is an even amount of items (yes … I count).

    I also won’t walk under a ladder.

  9. Excellent posting! Congrats!!!

    Happy New Year….

  10. you cook a turkey upside down to allow the breast meat to stay more tender (since all of the juices and broth end up in the bottom of the pan). also, if you stuff the bird, then everything will also seep down into the meat, if its upside down. just an FYI.

    Hope you had a terrific holiday and best wishes for the beginning of 2009! Love you, chica!

    maybe i’ll start posting again in 2009. :)

  11. YEAH!! THANKS TEE! THANKS RANDOMIZER.

  12. YEAH! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

  13. Hi Tracy,

    Just dropping by to say hello. Thanks for the nice Christmas card!

    Scott

  14. humincat

    Everything alright? Hopefully you’re just spending time with the kidlets and hubby while they’re on break.

  15. Tee

    humincat – Thanks for checking in on me. I’m fine, just busy with the kids and Carlos :) … I’ll post in the next couple days. Hope 2009 has been good to you so far! :)

  16. Pingback: 2009 Books «

Leave a Reply

