Old-School Ways to Remember Stuff

ibeforee There is so much to love about this book by Judy Parkinson. It’s called i before e (except after c) – old-school ways to remember stuff
. First let me say, I know you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but as a book lover, I love the design of this book. It has an old fashioned feel to it, and it looks gorgeous on the book shelf, (though you’ll constantly be pulling it down to read.)

As someone with a poor memory, I am a sucker for mnemonic devices. I love them and without them I would be lost. How can I remember the cardinal directions without my teacher’s voice echoing in my mind “Never, Eat, Shredded, Wheat.” (North, East, South, West.) … Or the order of the planets without, “My Very Educated Mother Just Served Us Nine Pizzas” (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto… except I learned this back in the 1980’s. I don’t know what Pluto’s status is these days.)

What about in music class? “Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge” helped me to memorize the notes. In 7th grade when I kept misspelling desert as dessert, a classmate told me, “Remember it this way – You would only want to walk through a desert once, so one ‘s’ – but dessert you would want to eat twice, so two ‘s’s.”

My father taught me how to use a screw driver when I was a kid, saying “Lefty Loose-y, Righty Tight-y”, (and I still say this to myself before I turn a screw.)

These little tricks were invaluable to me, and they still are. I often make them up for various things I want to remember. I do it with neigbbor’s names, mental lists of things I need to do, and I use them when I help my kids with their homework.

Needless to say – I absolutely love this book, and I learned a lot of new tricks. This book would make a great gift for anyone who loves words or facts, or needs help remembering things. It also makes a very nice gift for older kids all the way up to adults.

5 Comments

Filed under About me, books, helpful hints, kids, nostalgia, opinion

5 responses to “Old-School Ways to Remember Stuff

  1. You know, a friend and myself were just talking about this yesterday. In the past six years working in the education system, I have not once heard a teacher refer to these little learning tricks. Odd, don’t you think?

    I still find myself muttering lefty-loosey, righty-tighty. Even when writing something “i before e except after c” pops into my mind.

  2. I use all those rhymes, plus! Sounds like my kinda book!

  3. Tee

    Deputy’s Wife – I was going to mention this but I thought maybe it was just my imagination or my own kid’s school! … Is it some kind of conspiracy? LOL. Every time my older son has trouble learning something I’ll say, “It’s easy, didn’t they teach you -insert trick here-?” … And the majority of the time he’s never heard of it before. It’s kind of sad, but the unexpected bonus is that I look like a genius with all these tricks up my sleeve. LOL.

    Humincat – I think you and your older daughter would enjoy it!

  4. I love these kind of tricks. I learnt the righty tighty, lefty loosy from an episode of CSI and it has been so useful.

    Also my dad taught me this one for algebra which he learnt at school.

    “No need to worry no need to fuss
    Just remember like signs equal plus”

    when i was getting confused with double negatives.

    It sounds like a great book.

  5. Ash

    I will def. be trying to get my hands on this book! I remember by 7th grade history teacher telling us how to spell tomorrow (tom or row) and the difference b/w principle vs. principal (a principal is your pal). Funny how these things stick even after so many years.

Leave a Reply

