A skeptic’s adventures in Narnia

I’m reading a book right now by Laura Miller called, The Magician’s Book: A skeptic’s adventures in Narnia. I’m not far into it but already I’m blown away by how much she and I have in common.

Like me, Miller read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis in second grade. Like me, she was unaware of the Christian symbolism until she was much older, but was instead drawn into the land of Narnia and has ever since been an avid reader.

As an adult, Miller returns to Narnia not only in search of how it shaped the person she has become but to take a critical look at the author, C.S. Lewis.

A great read for anyone who enjoys C.S. Lewis and desires to know more about him as a person and author, as well as anyone who has returned to a favorite childhood book to try to recapture the magic.

1 Comment

Filed under About me, books, kids, nostalgia, opinion

One response to “A skeptic’s adventures in Narnia

  1. I’ve never read or watched the Narnia books/movies b/c I wasn’t allowed as a kid. My mom didn’t like how Christianity and magic blended together *rolls eyes*. I wish I could go back and read them anyway as a child. Now I really don’t have any interest in reading them.

Leave a Reply

