Almond Butter Apricot Cookies

If I had to choose one of my cookbooks to use exclusively for the rest of my life, I would choose The Healthiest Meals on Earth by Jonny Bowden, Ph.D.

I consider myself pretty well read on nutrition and I think this book provides solid advice on eating healthy. Toss your old cookbooks full of food that doesn’t nourish your body. These recipes reflect modern day knowledge of eating for maximum impact on your health which means choosing foods high in antioxidants, good fats, fiber, vitamins, etc.

When you think of the words “healthy” and “nutritious” you may be turned off, but each recipe in this book is accompanied by a beautiful full color photo that had me drooling. Not only that but I felt the recipes were fresh, creative and most didn’t involve a lot of hard to find expensive ingredients. (There were a few exceptions, but over all, I will use the majority of these recipes.)

With the permission of the publisher, I’m going to share one of the recipes with you so you can see exactly what I mean!

The Healthiest Meals on Earth by Jonny Bowden Ph.D./pg. 168-169

Healthiest Meals on Earth by Jonny Bowden Ph.D./pg. 168-169

Sweet and Simple Almond Butter Apricot Cookies/The Healthiest Meals on Earth by Jonny Bowden Ph.D.

Sweet and Simple Almond Butter Apricot Cookies/The Healthiest Meals on Earth by Jonny Bowden Ph.D.

4 Comments

Filed under books, food, health, opinion, recipe

4 responses to “Almond Butter Apricot Cookies

  1. Tee

    Oh – And it might be cheaper to make your own almond butter. Here is one recipe I found:
    http://www.mahalo.com/How_to_Make_Almond_Butter

  2. I’m going to hunt for it at my library! BUT- xylitol? Never heard of it!

  3. Pol*

    WOW!!!! That book is going onto my Christmas Wish List!
    I already have and enjoy “Heart Smart Cooking” (fantastic recipes in it — I think it is just Canadian though)

  4. Anonymous

    I think my gum has xylitol….
    Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

