The American Journey of Barack Obama

***CONTEST CLOSED*** WINNER ANNOUNCEMENT***

The winner is…

-Desi-

Thanks to all who entered!

***CONTEST CLOSED***CONTEST CLOSED***

Hachette Book Group has generously given me a copy of The American Journey of Barack Obama from the editors of Life for review. Not only that, but they sent me an extra copy to give away to my blog readers.

This book is absolutely gorgeous. There are many candid photos of Barack Obama in this hardcover book, and a lot of them I had never seen before. I just can’t tell you how beautiful this book is, so here is the official product description:

For decades Americans have turned to LIFE to see, understand, and remember the most important events and people of our time. Just as LIFE once opened up the glittering Kennedy White House, LIFE now focuses its lens on Barack Obama.

The American Journey of Barack Obama covers the candidate from his childhood and adolescence to his time as editor of The Harvard Law Review and his Chicago activist years, culminating with the excitement and fervor of the historic 2008 Democratic National Convention. The unfolding drama of Obama’s life and political career is cinematic in scope, and never has it been presented so compellingly.

In addition to a powerful array of photographs that were taken by many of the country’s greatest photographers (and some that were snapped, in the quiet moments, by Obama family members themselves), this book also includes a Foreword by Senator Edward M. Kennedy, an incisive narrative biography and original essays by some of our finest writers, including Gay Talese, Charles Johnson, Melissa Fay Greene, Andrei Codrescu, Fay Weldon, Richard Norton Smith, Bob Greene and several others.

Many readers will find a new understanding of Obama. All readers will feel that they are bearing witness to a singular, undeniably American story.

If you want a chance at winning this book, comment and tell me why you’re voting for Barack Obama. (US Residents only.)

Winner will be announced on this post Monday, October 13th, 2008, so comment before then!

11 Comments

Filed under books, contest, opinion, politics

11 responses to “The American Journey of Barack Obama

  1. The number one reason I’m voting for Barack?

    Because he’s not McCain. (or Bush). yay!

  2. he epitomizes what’s great about being american: a single mother; a meld of cultures; the fulfilled (american) dream of an ivy-league education; hard work in the trenches; a great family; a wonderful husband and father; morals and a desire to serve; culminating in this opportunity, in spite of such humble beginnings, to run for the highest office in the land. go obama, go america.

  3. I’ll be cheesy here… because I am on the run and cannot list all the reasons why I am voting for him. To sum it up…

    He can help us.

  4. I’m voting for Barack Obama because he represents a one-in-a-lifetime chance for a better life. Obama’s message is the most inspiring since Bobby Kennedy’s, and it has taken us 40 years to find a candidate just as good.

    Obama represents a more compassionate America, and that’s what I want, too.

  5. If only I’m american I would vote for obama

    because you write it on your blog ^^,

  6. Carolsue

    One reason is because Sarah Palin isn’t his running mate! She’s scarier than McCain! But mostly I’d vote for Obama because he is the better candidate!

  7. Im voting for Barack because he is *the* first person running for president since I was old enough to understand what the position represented that I LIKE.. i.e. not picking b/c the other one is bad, but because I agree with Obama’s policies. I agree with his stances. I like his nature and I believe if we have a chance ,he is our best chance to get that.

  8. This will be my first year voting as a democrat. I will be voting for Barack Obama because Hillary didn’t make it past the primaries.

  9. Cindi

    I think Mr. Obama’s time has come! There are no coincidences. The United States and the world need his visionary views. That is why I am voting for Barack Obama. Thanks, Cindi

  10. Desi

    I am casting my vote for Barrack because I feel he is the PERFECT reflection of what America stands for here and Abroad. Not only did he come from a single parent home and go thru challenges as a young man of mixed ancestry, he overcame all those issues and made himself into a great man who happens to be proud and a great leader with a great vision for this country.

    Being a black person myself, I for one feel overwhelmed whenever I see him speak, I am so proud of him and all his doings in his life. He gives hope not just to Americans, but to many young black men here in America as well as other countries who have been made to feel like that are nothing that they cannot attain to anything of importance in life. He gives hope to those young men who grew up in single parent homes with no fathers. He represents the “forgotten” lot of children who are raised by one parent.

    His visions and ideals for America are wonderful and those that we all dream of. Barrack is the type of change that America and the world needs. Having him as a President would help usher America into the next ear of “equality for all” Americans as was intended by the forefathers. Barrack is the dream that all little kids who come from the non-conventional family’s dream of.

    Having him as president would just reinforce that dream in all kids, of all races and help America become the once great gem of the West it used to be. Thanks

  11. Vicki Wurgler

    I think the middle class in this country is hurting big time-and that’s who he wants to help

Leave a Reply

