A is for Atticus

A is for Atticus by Lorilee Craker is an absolute must have for bibliophiles and parents to be, (and if you’re both, you won’t find a better book for naming your baby.)

I wish this book had been around when I was naming my two sons. I picked two literary names for my boys anyway, but if I’d have had this book in hand, I may have had the courage to go ahead and name one of them one of the more unique names I had on the list of possibilities like Holden (Caulfield) or Langston (Hughes). Or maybe I would have even come across a name I never even considered such as Oliver (Twist) or (Tom) Sawyer.

7 Comments

Filed under books, opinion, writing

7 responses to “A is for Atticus

  1. One of my friends has a 1 year old named Atticus.

  2. Cyn

    Oh, boy, I thought we were so creative… my middle is named Atticus. I guess Atticus is the new William. haha.

    Uh, I don’t know about Holden Caulfield, Tee. Could be a bad omen to name your kid that. (-:

  3. I pray that I will be able to use this book soon :)

  4. I am so adding this to my “plan to read” list on Shelfari (the only social networking thing I’m addicted to anymore). If nothing else, it sounds like a great jumping off point. Of course, my tentative plan is “Calvin” – like Calvin and Hobbes. Sort of literary, right?

  5. How interesting…..any ‘Shionge’ heheheh…just kidding :D

  6. When I worked at a daycare center, we had Atticus, Ignatious, Esperanza, Nevaeh (that’s heaven spelled backwards, as her mother was quick to say so).

    There was also Jamesha, Shaqwanah (sic), and Hanife.

    Sometimes the names seemed odd, but I kinda like it better than having Jakob and Jacob and Jaycob, Emily, Emilie, Emmalee, and Emaleigh.

    Don’t get me going about apostrophe names and having to enter the computer system.

  7. Lynn

    I’ve been a boy named Lynn for decades now. Maybe I overcompensated by lettering in 3 sports in high school (ha). But it was a book similar to what you feature that told me ‘Lynn’ was originally Old Welsh, spelled ‘llyn’ and means “from the waterfall, or pool near a waterfall”.

Leave a Reply

