After the Fire

Ater the Fire: A True Story of Friendship and Survival by Robin Gaby Fisher is beautiful and moving. Grab a box of tissues before sitting down with this one. You will cry, (but I promise it’s in a good way.)

On January 19, 2000, a fire raged through Seton Hall University’s freshman dormitory, killing three students and injuring 58 others. Among the victims were Shawn Simons and Alvaro Llanos, roommates from poor neighborhoods who made their families proud by getting into college. They managed to escape, but both were burned terribly. AFTER THE FIRE is the story of these young men and their courageous fight to recover from the worst damage the burn unit at Saint Barnabas hospital had ever seen. It is the story of the extraordinary doctors and nurses who work with the burned. It is the story of mothers and fathers, of faith and family and the invisible ties that bind us to each other. It is the story of the search for the arsonists–and the elaborate cover-up that nearly obscured the truth. And it is the story of the women who came to love these men, who knew that real beauty is a thing not seen in mirrors. -(Official book description)

4 Comments

Filed under books, opinion, positive thinking

4 responses to “After the Fire

  1. Shawn Simons

    Hey Tracy,

    This is Shawn Simons, from the “After The Fire” book. Just wanted to thank you for enjoying the book and recommending it to all who visit your page. My goal for documenting what was a tragedy in my life was to teach others that with true friendships, love and care from those around you, I was able to overcome adversities and they can as well. The fire caused a newfound bond with many people including my roommate Alvaro, my family, a staff of doctors and nurses as well as Robin Fisher who wrote the book. I’ve found life long friends and now that I look back, it was definetly worth it. Thanks for the support.

    Shawn Simons

  2. Tee

    Wow – Hello, Shawn! I feel truly honored to be able to tell you that your and Alvaro’s story is really inspirational. I’m grateful that you’ve shared it. I hope your story inspires and encourages others, and that God continues to bless you and your families.

  3. paula

    This Paula the wife of Alvaro every week I sit in front of my computer and google to see if I find any reviews on the book.. And I came accross your blog. I would really like to take this time to say thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for letting everyone know how you felt about this book. We are all very blessed to have these two great men still alive and well with us. With this book I hope that everyone who has been through something so
    tragic can see that there is HOPE, that there is LOVE, and that there is TRUE LOVE. Anything is possiable if we all just have faith in ourselves and in the lord anything is possiable!

  4. Tee

    How fantastic that you were able to find this review and leave a comment, Paula. (I love the internet!) Thank you for taking the time to stop by. Your love story is simply beautiful. Dios bendiga a ti y Alvaro, que tienes muchos años juntos, alegres, saludables y llenos de amor y esperanza. Saludame a Alvaro y por favor di le “gracias” por compartir la historia.

Leave a Reply

