Multiplicity

Multiplicity: The New Science of Personality, Identity, and the Self by Rita Carter, is a fascinating book I just finished reading.

For anyone who has wanted to “find themselves” or dealt with the confusion of fulfilling multiple roles, this book will help you to feel like someone is finally speaking your language and truly understands you.

Award-winning science journalist, Rita Carter, makes the persuasive argument that not only is it OK to have conflicting personality traits, but it’s completely normal.

Since I was a teenager and throughout my 20’s, I have been keenly aware that many of my personality traits are complete opposites. There are times when I would describe myself as sloppy, and other times when I would say I’m quite organized. With some people I’m painfully shy, and with others I’m a fun-loving extrovert… In a society that values simplicity, these types of inconsistencies are at best frowned upon, and at worst, considered a sign of mental instability. One is made to feel as if they lack maturity, integrity or don’t truly know who they are when they switch roles and personalities depending on where they are, who they’re with, and what they’re doing.

The truth is that these shifts are necessary and beneficial. A woman who works a demanding professional job during the day could not be a good mother to her children in the evening without acting very differently. Once the children are in bed and she must switch to the role of wife and lover, an entirely different personality is required as well.

If you’re ready to get to know all the personalties inside you and use them to your advantage, Multiplicity can help you do that. I really recommend this one, especially to young women like myself who have struggled for years to figure out who they are.

4 Comments

Filed under About me, books, culture, opinion

4 responses to “Multiplicity

  1. Oh, this post is sooo me, too. I can be neat and organized in some areas/a total slob in others, I can be very shy in some situations/extremely outgoing and friendly in other situations. Etc, etc. I know exactly what you’re talking about in your post… I’m the exact same way..

  2. Iva

    Wow so I am NOT the only one, that is wonderful news :)

  3. Cyn

    I would rather not get to know myself… I am really quite annoying.

  4. Tee

    Soleil – (I like this new name. Pretty!) – I think you’d enjoy this book. I know that like me you identify with a couple different cultures, speak some foreign languages, and love to travel. This can have a big impact on your personalities.

    The book used an example of one woman who was from England but grew up in Latin America – so she had ties to both… Depending upon where she was, she acted like a totally different person. I can really relate to that – and I bet you can, too.

    Iva – It’s comforting, isn’t it? :)

    Cyn – LOL, actually the “annoying” part of you may just be a minor personality. Most people have quite a few that they don’t like very much!

Leave a Reply

