How Big Is Your God?

I have just finished reading a book called, How Big Is Your God?: The Freedom to Experience the Divine by Paul Coutinho.

I have two words… Life. Changing.

A couple weeks ago, Carlos and I were sitting in the living room talking. The boys were asleep, the house was dark and silent. Somehow we got onto the topic of religion.

In the darkness I felt safe. I couldn’t see Carlos’ eyes on me and I blurted out in a loud whisper, “How do you know there really is a God?”

The words shocked me and I began to cry, because I knew that this was a question I silently ask myself every day. It was a secret I felt I couldn’t share with anyone. If I share it with unbelievers, then what kind of example am I? And if I share it with believers they may be judgmental, or if they’re weak in faith as I am, I may take them down with me.

Carlos asked me why it made me cry and I said something that I never wanted to acknowledge. I was crying out of fear. If I don’t believe in God, what does this mean for me? My Baptist upbringing had taught me about a vindictive, angry God who punishes sinners by sending them to a fiery hell for eternity. This was the God I could not understand, could not relate to, and felt, I couldn’t believe in. This was a God of wrath, a monster, really.

This book helped me to realize, among other things, that this is a very small God. We have limited God with this perspective. God is so much greater than that – So much greater.

If you seriously want to deepen your relationship with God and live a happier more fulfilling life, you must read this book. It doesn’t matter what religion you are. There are some parts of the book that speak directly about Christianity, but this is for anyone. I will warn you, this book is a challenge. It will make you think and it will open up new doors in your heart and mind that you didn’t even know existed. After reading it, I don’t think I’ll ever be quite the same.

12 Comments

Filed under About me, books, change, opinion, positive thinking

12 responses to “How Big Is Your God?

  1. I might need to check it out from the library. You already know my take on this topic!

  2. Not heard of this one, but your review makes me want to check it out. Thanks!

  3. This sounds like a book I would like to read. Since the day back in 1980 when my grandma died and I saw her look into heaven and talk after being “dead” for 24 hours I have never doubted that God is real. Yes, my grandmother still had a heartbeat but her eyes were fixedin a death stare and she had no response to any of us. The nurse said she would go anytime. So we set and waited. Suddenly grandma opened her eyes and raising her arm in the air her eyes lit up with recogniton and she called out the name of her friend who had died 2 years earlier. Than exclaiming about the beauty of heaven her voice wondered off and she closed her eyes and took her last breath. I have never doubted since.

  4. how great that you were able to have such an open discussion. i’ve heard about this book and now i’ll put it on my list of must-reads. my pastor spoke about this a few months ago, about needing to realize that god is bigger and more capable than anything we can possible imagine. i can’t wait to read the book now :)

    oh, and welcome to the new digs. gosh i should’ve brought a plant or something.

  5. I like the new digs, thanks for posting your new link

  6. Wow, that sounds like a book that I *need* to read. I am a Christian but have struggled with the “angry, mean, God” view for most of my life. I actually struggle with that one a daily basis… I have a hard time “seeing” a loving God. I’ve never doubted that there was a God, I’ve just doubted His love and care… I’m not a very trusting person, even towards God. I’m tempted to go buy that book today. I’m so glad that it helped you and hope that it will help me too.

  7. Tee

    Aisha – I think you would really get something out of this book – even though you’ve got your faith screwed on more tightly than I have :)

    Tammy – Hope you read it.

    Mrs. Darling – WOW. Thank you for sharing that with me. I mean, sometimes you hear stories like this, but not from anyone you really “know” or trust. Hearing it from you means a lot to me.

    Patricia – No plant needed. I’m not real good with them, anyway. LOL.

    Anne – No prob. Thanks for following it!

    Dandelion Dust – Based on what I know of you through our few E-mails, I think you’re a lot like me in this respect. This book may be just what you need.

  8. Interesting. Perhaps I will check this out. I have a hard time believing in an all-loving God that will fry your butt for not believing what people have written about him. This will be an interesting read if I ever get around to it.

  9. I’m so glad you found this book. I’ve never heard of it, but it sounds wonderful.

  10. Unbelief is all throughout the Bible. As we are sinners and given a choice it is only natural that we will haave doubt (Satan’s always prowling). This is when mentors, praying, reading, and discussing will help you grow. This doubt is really, in my opinion, a stretching period.
    Blessings

  11. You know, in some ways, I’m not sure it would be faith if we didn’t question if God is real everyday. Questioning that is part of being human, and think a loving God understands that. I think it’s also an opportunity to grow closer to him and understand him better, which is always a good thing. I’m going to have to check out this book too. A book that really opened that door for me was “Captivating” by John and Stasi Eldridge. I’d say more, but I don’t want to sound preachy. : )

  12. Tee

    Scott – I know this is an issue I’ve talked with you about before. I hope you’ll give this book a chance. I didn’t feel it was preachy at all. That sort of thing turns me off. This book would make most conservative Christians a bit uncomfortable. You have to be open minded.

    Robyn – Hope you read it!

    Debbie – That is a nice thought. I tend to agree with you.

    Sarah – Thanks for the recommendation. I will check it out :)

Leave a Reply

