Love, Magic and Mudpies

“We are required to obtain a license to fish, hunt, or drive, to practice medicine or law, or to open a business. However, we are not required to be licensed prior to becoming a parent. I believe this book can help you qualify for that license.” ~Bernie S. Siegel, MD

This is an excerpt from the book, Love, Magic, & Mudpies – Raising Your Kids to Feel Loved, Be Kind, and Make a Difference and after reading it I absolutely agree with the author. Each 2 page chapter (which allows you to move through this book easily on bathroom breaks before small fists start pounding down the door), teaches you a lesson about parenthood. The chapters are typically a quote, some advice, a touching or funny story, interesting information, and practical ways to be a better parent. It’s the perfect mix and broken up into perfect portions!

This book reminded me above all that children are a gift to be cherished. Being a parent is a joy and we should take every opportunity for providing gentle guidance with great honor and yet we shouldn’t forget the laughter.

7 Comments

Filed under books, kids

7 responses to “Love, Magic and Mudpies

  1. Liza

    sounds like a cool book! I just need kids to go with it :) LOL

  2. Zoe

    Wow, I am going to have to check it out!! Thanks for sharing. I wanted to let you know that right before Christmas I was reading on your blog that you wanted “Mental Floss”. I had never heard of that magazine so I checked into it (if it is cool to Tee I know it will be cool to me!!) and I thought that it was cool. So, I ended up getting a subscription for Sterling. He lOVES it!! I hope that Carlos got it for you!!

  3. dakotablueeyes

    sounds like an interesting book and interesting what we need license for but not for bring a life into the world and raising it lol

  4. sarahgrace

    Oooooh! Definitely gonna check that one out!

  5. Anonymous

    if you have it can I borrow it when you are done?
    – your sister

  6. Sandy

    Did you get that for Christmas?
    That’s exactly the kind of thing I like to read now, easily digestable and in small bites.

    Where ya been, oh DSL lady? You should be having TWICE daily postings, lol

  7. Patricia

    i wanna be able to borrow this book :)

Leave a Reply

