The Cube

The Cube is a game that has been passed around for a long time and said to have Sufi origins. It is a game with interesting and rewarding results. There is one thing to be aware of – it can only be played once. After you have played and learned the results, it is impossible to play again.

I bought a book that contained this game when I worked at a bookstore and shared it with everyone I knew. My little sister just reminded me of it yesterday.

Relax and use your imagination and as much detail as you can when answering the questions below. I recommend writing your answers down or typing into something like Notepad. You’ll be happy you did when it comes time to “interpret”.

1. Start by picturing a desert in your mind’s eye. A simple scene with a horizon line separating sand from sky. And somewhere in the desert landscape, there is a cube. See it in your mind’s eye; describe it to yourself. What is its size? Where is it located? What kind of materials is it made up of?

2. Now somewhere in this landscape, besides the cube that you have imagined, there is also a ladder. Just as you did with the cube, see the ladder in your mind’s eye and describe it to yourself. Imagine all the details?

What is its size (especially in comparison to the cube)? Where is it located (specifically in relationship with the position of the cube)? What is it made of, etc.? Don’t be afraid to see every little detail of each visualized object. The more you imagine, the more rewarding the game will be.

3. Now also in this desert landscape, along with the cube and the ladder, is a horse. Just as you did with the cube and ladder, it’s time to picture the horse and describe it. Is it a specific breed? How big is it? What is its coloring and markings (if any)? Anything special about this horse?
Also be sure to imagine how it relates to the cube and the ladder. And since this is a living object, what action might it be doing right now?

4. You’ve pictured three things so far, just a couple more to go. This time, imagine in your mind’s eye, that in this landscape there is also a storm. What kind of storm do you see? Where is it in relation to the other three objects in this scene? How is it affecting them (or not)? Again, the more you allow yourself to see, the better this game will be.

5. Lastly, in your desert, there are flowers. How many of them are there? What type and what color? And how do they relate to the other four objects you’ve imagined?

6. You’ve successfully created an unique image in your mind’s eye that only you could come up with. Every element is individual to you; this is a purely subjective exercise. There are no right or wrong answers. After all, this is your imagination, and only you are capable of describing what occurs inside.

Look one more time at the scene you’ve created. Make sure that you’ve left nothing out; that everything is described in as much detail as you are capable of.

Now – you don’t have to share your results, since they’re rather personal. To reveal the secret of the Cube game, go to the comments section of this post. I have posted how to interpret what you’ve seen as the first comment.

DO NOT VIEW THE SECRET UNTIL YOU HAVE PLAYED OR YOU WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO PLAY THE GAME.

21 Comments

Filed under books, culture, fun links

21 responses to “The Cube

  1. Tee

    IF YOU HAVE PLAYED THE GAME AND WRITTEN DOWN YOUR ANSWERS IN DETAIL YOU ARE READY TO READ THE SECRET. ***IF YOU HAVE NOT PLAYED GO NO FURTHER!***

    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *

    Here are what the objects symbolize…

    The cube is you.

    The ladder is your friends.

    The horse is your lover.

    The storm is the storm that will occur from time to time in life.

    The flowers are your children.

  2. CameraDawktor

    That is very interesting….hmmm……..

  3. ~ruthie

    okay, tee, i did it–interesting results! i can see now how it all ties together, and how relevant it is to my own personal life. :) thanks!

  4. Patricia

    i played.

    and now i’m a little freaked out :P

    maybe i’ll e-mail you.

  5. Tee

    Patricia – It can be very freaky! (E-mail me!)

    I wish I could play it again. I can’t even remember what my answers were so long ago. I just played it with Carlos. He said the horse was really, really nice and he wanted to jump on it and I started laughing hysterically.

  6. Jen

    Very cool- i’ll have to pass this on.

  7. -xtessa-

    LOL! i actually wrote down “not perfect” for my ladder… hmmm… and i dunno, when i pictured the horse, i imagined Pegasus! LMAO!!! that, i don’t know how to interpret!!!

  8. Liza

    cool game!!! how fun is that :) lol!!

  9. CameraDawktor

    Carlos’ comment was funny…he’s a stud! (haha)

  10. Laina

    Fun! I imagined that the flowers were growing right by the cube–hopefully that means my kids will stay close to home. :)

  11. Alison

    I said the horse was meandering…hopefully not too far away! The ladder was laying down in front of the cube. Many times my friends have kept me from falling so I found that interesting and rather cool.

  12. Bossy?'s YOU

    that was neat…

    my storm was a tornado, and that happnes in this house more than I like to admit;)

  13. Sandy

    awww, the ladder was leaning on my cube, and I had imagined (before I knew what it meant) that it was for me to climb up onto the cube. so the horse was standing by me, chewing hay, waiting for my return. My flowers were everywhere and beautiful. The only thing I didn’t like, was the storm was brewing in the distance and headed our way!!

  14. Sobia

    You wanna know what’s weird? I pictured a strong brown horse looking at me and tied to my ladder. (Hopefully that means he’s my friend too) and Ibrim pictured a beautiful white horse beside him looking at him. How funny is that?

  15. amba

    Hi —

    I’m the co-author of the two CUBE books, and it really pleases me to see that the little game is still traveling onward.

    Annie Gottlieb

  16. Aisha

    Ok Tee I wanted to do this for some time but wanted to wait till I had the time to sit and do it. Hmm. I’m confused about mine.

    I said the cube was big and semi floating in a tilted angle. It was foggy glass white with steel edges.

    I said the ladder was to its right pretty close, brown and open tilted a little in the direction of the cube and slightly bigger than the cube.

    The ladder was between me and the horse. It was smaller than both the cube and the ladder and the horse was a dark suede brown with a strap like a harness around its mouth and it was staring intently into my eyes.

    I pictured gray cloudy puffy clouds with lightening but only above the horse, cube, and ladder, the rest of the sky was orange-ish red.

    I pictured red, pink and lavender flowers with greenl eaves spread throughout the desert.

    What on earth coudl this mean? I dont know.

  17. Tee

    Mrs. Gottlieb! How cool of you to stop by and leave a comment! As I said in my post here, I REALLY enjoyed your book!

    Aisha – Wow – A lot of details! If you want to talk about what it could all mean, E-mail me. You may want to get the book Annie Gottlieb wrote to interpert it better.

  18. Kether

    I wonder how my friends will feel when they find that my ladder was “old and rickety with peeling paint.”

    And I find it very interesting that I had a hard time picturing the cube and didn’t even want to spend time trying, so I moved on to the other, easier, stuff.

  19. Tee

    Kether – LOL about your friends! Maybe they’re just older friends (age or length of time you’ve known them?)

    The fact that you didn’t want to spend much time thinking about the cube and couldn’t really picture it means to me that you don’t focus on yourself – which can be a good thing – but also that you need to put more time into discovering who you are and loving yourself.

    Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

